Handing Over Freedom

Frustrated,

Confused,

What am I to do?

These people,

Who are losing their right to be free,

And not even trying to defend it.

Our ancestors fought and died for this right to be free,

And this generation,

Is not just letting it slip through their fingers,

Grasping at it half-heartedly,

They are handing it over,

Cheerleaders,

For the tyrants,

Who want to see it gone.

I stand,

In the background,

Shaking my head,

But no one sees me.

They are too fixed on their iphones,

Tablets and computers.

So I sit at my desk,

I type these words,

In hopes that my voice will be heard,

Before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

