Five Minute Friday: Close

Go:

 

I couldn’t feel Him

They told me He was close

But there wasn’t peace in my soul.

I screamed at Him.

Why did you take her?

I wasn’t ready,

It couldn’t have been time.

I spiraled down, away from Him.

Tears fell

For oh so long,

Then one day I was done.

It took three and a half years,

But I forgave Him.

I came back.

I found the place where I could heal.

That was almost a year ago, now.

This time

I know it was time

Tears fall,

But it’s only because I miss him.

This time,

I’m not mad at God.

Grandpa’s in a better place.

And I’ll be there someday

This time

I have peace

Because I know God is close

This time

I think I can heal

I can feel Him

Holding me close

Oh, so close.

 

Stop.

 

I think this ^ explains why I haven’t posted in over a month. At least a little bit. My Grandpa passed away May 1, 2014. and I haven’t written hardly at all. I’m going to try to start writing something for this blog every once in a while now. No promises as to the schedule though. The only reason I even posted this is because I saw the prompt and knew I had to write for it.

 

Lisa-Jo Baker’s Post: bit.ly/1m2G0G0

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Close

  1. Here from FMF! Thanks for stopping by my blog…I will continue to hold on to these moments with my kiddos! Great post….my grandpa passed away almost 2 years ago and I still miss him too….it can be so hard to understand why God needs some of our loved ones in Heaven more than we need them here!

  2. I’m very sorry for your loss. Grief is a complicated thing and I think you’re wise to take whatever time you need to mourn and celebrate your grandfather.

Leave a Reply

