It’s Been A While

It’s been a while since I posted last, I know. Sorry. Life has been crazy. I’m a high school senior this year, and that makes for crazy busy-ness. And it makes no sense that I’m posting now, because I’m doing NaNoWriMo again this year. Well, I’m not one to do the sensible thing, that’s for sure. And besides, I’m just posting an excerpt from a thing I already wrote. And it has been two months since I posted last. It’s about time. Well, anyways, here you go. Enjoy this un-edited little snippet of nonsense. 🙂

~~~

I set my mug down on the counter, almost making the tea slosh over the sides. Time to go get the mail. I headed for the front door, dodging the chair someone had pulled out into the middle of the kitchen, the shoes in the doorway, and Ellie’s bag in the entryway. At least, I think that’s Ellie’s… I took the shirt off the doorknob and set it over the back of the chair that was for some reason by the door now. I opened the door, walked out, and almost tripped over Beth’s roller skates in front of the door. Why, oh why hadn’t I moved out after college, found some other roommates? Because I didn’t have any other friends, that’s why. I sighed. I loved them to death, but I couldn’t STAND their mess. How they stood it was a mystery to me.

I pulled a dead leaf from the potted plant outside that, despite my efforts to keep it alive, was definitely dying. I continued on to the mailbox, going around Bridget’s bike, and stepping over her helmet. The neighbor had just mowed his lawn.

I finally made it to the mailbox and opened it. I scooped up the mail and shut it, with maybe a little more force than was necessary. I made the trek back to the kitchen, a bit faster than on the way out because I knew where everything was. I tossed the mail on the counter and reached for my mug to find that someone had finished my tea for me. Probably Beth. She did stuff like that. I sighed and started some more water warming in the teakettle. While I was waiting, I sifted through the mail, throwing away the ads and sorting it into piles for each person. I never got any mail, so I don’t know why I did it, but then again, if I didn’t, they wouldn’t even take the time to look…

And then there it was. A blue envelope with my name on it. I never got mail. Mom, Dad, and John just called or texted. They wouldn’t take the time to actually sit down and write a letter. And besides, this wasn’t in any of their handwriting. And there wasn’t a return address. That was weird. I ripped it open and pulled out the paper inside.

YOU HAD BETTER WATCH OUT. YOUR DAD’S GETTING TOO NOSY.

I dimly felt my hip bump into the counter. I set my hand down on the counter to brace myself. The kettle announced its heat with a sharp whistle, breaking my reverie. I reached over and pulled it off the burner and set it on a hot pad. I looked at the paper one more time before shoving it back into the envelope and putting it into my pocket. I’d call Tim later. He’d know what I should do.

Leave a Reply

