Love

Years ago, I made a choice to love someone.
And for years, she was easy to love.
Approximately two months ago, she made some choices with her life that made her not-so-easy to love.
But my love for her wasn’t a fuzzy feeling that went away when she did something I didn’t like.
Because that isn’t true love.
That’s what this world calls love.
But it’s not what God means when he says he loves us.
And it’s not what I meant, what I mean, when I say I love my friend.
When I say I love her, I mean I chose to love her.
I choose to love her.
Even when that choice means that it hurts me when she makes bad choices with her life.
Because I love her.
That’s what it means in the Bible when it says God loves us.
It means he chose to love us, no matter what we do.
Even when we hurt him.
It’s not a fickle human emotion.
It’s a conscious, deliberate choice.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8 (NASB)

While we were sinners, in direct opposition to God’s laws, when we hated Him, He came to earth in the form of a man to die so that we could live forever with him.
Because he loves us.
Because He consciously, deliberately chose to love us.
Not because we followed every rule that he laid out to the letter.
Not because we never make mistakes, always do what he wants us to.
Because He chose to.
The God of the entire universe chose to love you.

This is something that I’m learning at a deeper, more profound level right now through some not-so-great circumstances, that I felt compelled to share with all of you.
Something that takes my breath away every day.
Makes me love my Savior so, so much more.
I pray it blesses you. ❤

Leave a Reply

